I finished reading THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER by Stephen Chbosky

“After I read a good book, I have a hard time coping with reality.”

As I said on the title, IT’S DONE! But I’m not happy. I wasn’t contented on the ending. It’s like the author rushed the last chapters just to finish the book. He didn’t mention what’s happening with the protagonist, Charlie. He didn’t elaborate if was he ill or was he on drugs.

Meanwhile, just like on other books – and as stated on the quote, i feel like I’m a part of the story and i can compare people from the reality to the book. I feel like I’m Mary Elizabeth, because of how Charlie’s sister described her.  Then, Bob’s description of Charlie being the ‘Wallflower’ can be compared to my mom. Now, all I think when I see my mother was “She’s a wallflower.” Bob was my favorite character. I learned a lot from him.

Btw, check this out. If you’re interested to the book, view some excerpts here.
If you’re not into reading, maybe you can watch the movie instead (showing on cinemas on 2012).

QUotes from the book:
---
"He's a wallflower."
And Bob really nodded his head. And the whole room nodded their head. 
And I started to feel  nervous in the Bob way, but Patrick didn't let 
me get too nervous. He sat down next to me.
"You see things. You keep quiet about them. And you understand."
---
My sister said Mary Elizabeth is suffering from low self-esteem, ... 
Everything can't be low self-esteem, can it? My sister tried to clarify
 things. She said that by introducing me to all these great things, 
Mary Elizabeth gained a "superior position" that she wouldn't need if 
she was confident about herself. She also said that people who try to 
control situations all the time are afraid that if they don't, nothing 
will work out the way they want.
---
[Bob] says when you're smoking a cigarette with someone, and you have 
a lighter, you should light their cigarette first. But if you have 
matches, you should light your cigarette first, so you breathe in the 
"harmful sulfur" instead of them. He says it's the polite thing to do.
  He also says that it's bad luck to have "three on a match." He heard 
that from his uncle who fought in Vietnam.  Something about how three 
cigarettes was enough time for the enemy to know where you are.
Bob says that when you're alone, and you light a cigarette, and the 
cigarette is only halfway lit that means someone is thinking about you.
  He also says that when you find a penny, it's only "lucky" if it's 
heads-up.  He says the best thing to do is find a lucky penny when 
you're with someone and give the other person the good luck. He 
believes in karma.  He also loves to play cards.
Leave a Reply

