Pocahontas I & II review

To be honest, Pocahontas is the only Disney Princess film I never watched when i was young. Maybe because no one lend me a VCD copy of that film, or because I don’t really count her as a princess since for me, Royalty is always about castles and ball gowns.

Yesterday, my dad and my little brother fetched me on my dormitory so I can go home because I should be going home every week and it’s been three weeks since I last went home. While my dad is driving, me and my bro watched Pocahontas on the way home at my laptop.

I liked the film so much, that all i think of is a guy like John Smith. Well, this feeling always occur every time I finished watching a Disney love story, so pardon me. I just don’t like the ending. Why do they have to be separated?

The film also have resemblances with the movie Avatar. Both have the concept of there was a girl from the natives who owns the land, and there was the new comers who want something from the land. Then one of the new comer’s will fall in love with the native, and the enchanted tree has a major role. Maybe Avatar got inspired from the story, they just made it into futuristic and sci-fi typeof story and setting.

Today, when I woke up, I watched Pocahontas II and I was so pissed off with the story. Why do they have to introduce a new character? They can make it like the story of the Princess Bride where the girl thought her lover was dead and then find’s out that the one she’s always with was her lover. Can’t it be John Smith=John Rolfe?

All of these were running on my mind, until I read on Wikipedia that Pocahontas was a true story, that he saved a guy from being punished by her father, and that she really married John Rolfe. 😦 (nnooooo…)

Well, maybe the lesson in here was not everyone ends up with their first love. </3

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. IdealisticArtisan
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 04:31:23

    http://images.huffingtonpost.com/gen/130283/original.jpg I knew it! I should have watched Pocahontas before I watched Avatar! Avatar is Pocahontas in Space!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

